Apple Pirate

Hello, hello!

These past few days I’ve been to two Farmer’s Markets, finding such fascinating people at each. I had my camera in hand, wandering about noticing every person’s unique styles and looks. There were so many people I wanted to strike a conversation with and snap a couple pictures of! One man that was working at a booth selling fresh, organic apples especially caught my eye. He had a kind of pirate-like look, along with a hippy vibe at the same time. I went up to his stand, bought a couple apples and chatted him up.

The name of this unique man is Miguel, and he is from Portugal. He has been living in the U.S. for ten years and working at Farmer’s Markets for four. “I gotta sell something I believe in,” he said, referring to the yummy organic apples. He harvests apples on an apple farm, and sells them to bring out the reality and joyful culture of the farm. How fun!

I photographed his pirate-esque face, trying to get shots between the nuts he kept tossing into his mouth. Over his cheerful personality he put on the most serious face as I took pictures, but I managed to get an unnoticed shot of him smiling! Of course, I took a picture of his feet as well! He was wearing a style of Toms shoes that I’ve never seen before but loved! The Toms shoes were a perfect touch to his awesome look and personality.

I finished my conversation with this gentle man, ending with a warm hug form Miguel before I walked away. Love, love, love the people I meet when I’m out and about; all of the interesting stories I have yet to hear!!

xo Ivy

Leave a comment